top of page
  • Stephen Lecce, MPP

Ontario Appointing Transition Board to Oversee Dissolution of Peel Region

Updated: Jul 7, 2023

TORONTO — Ontario is appointing five members to a transition board that will make recommendations to the government on a range of restructuring matters related to the dissolution of the Regional Municipality of Peel in order to make Mississauga, Brampton and Caledon independent municipalities by January 1, 2025.

The five members who have been appointed to the board bring a range of experience across the public and private sectors, including municipal government and administration, policing, business law and business management, infrastructure delivery and the provincial and federal governments.

Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, appointed the following individuals to the transition board:

  • John Livey, Chair

  • Tracey Cook

  • Eric Jolliffe

  • Sean Morley

  • Peter Weltman

“Mississauga, Brampton and Caledon are poised for significant growth over the next decade, and our government is making sure they have the tools required to prepare,” said Minister Clark. “The five members that have agreed to serve on the transition board bring an impressive range of experience that will help ensure the dissolution process is carried out with minimal disruption for residents and employees and in a manner that leaves all three municipalities well-positioned for future growth.”

The transition board is tasked with helping to ensure that all affected municipalities, their residents and employees are respected and treated in a fair and equitable manner. The advice of the board will help ensure the continuation of high-quality local services without interruption during the transition period and into the future. The board will help ensure financial sustainability throughout the dissolution process and its recommendations will help inform government decisions that may be required to implement the restructuring.

Quick Facts

  • The dissolution of Peel Region and the establishment of a transition board was announced as part of the Hazel McCallion Act, which received Royal Assent on June 8, 2023.

  • Approximately 1.5 million residents currently live in the municipalities that make up the Region of Peel and this is expected to grow to over two million by 2041.

  • The Ontario government is expanding strong mayor powers to the mayors of 26 municipalities – including Mississauga, Brampton and Caledon – as part of the province’s work to build 1.5 million homes by 2031.

Additional Resources

3 views0 comments


bottom of page